The other day in my Theories of Mass Communication class my teacher put up pieces of brands on the board. We tried to identify the brands. Some brands were hardly able to identify. For example the Apple trade mark only had the stem of the apple, so it looked like a dot.

However, I was shocked by all the brands we identified. Out of everyone in our class everyone answered at least half of the brands correctly. The marketers who help put those brands in our view would have been pleased. None of us had ever studied exactly what each looked like but we still knew.

Later I went online and found a website called Best Global Brands 2010. The top five brands were Coke, IBM, Microsoft, Google and GE. The top nine brands all originated in the US followed by Nokia from Finland. I have to admit I was proud that Coke was on top. I am from the Atlanta suburbs, so I am happy the entire world represents.

The website showed how big of an impact the companies that originate in the US have all over the world. We are learning about different types of PR tools to use when we graduate and start working. Those PR tools affect companies decisions. Companies decisions and products can affect all different people globally.

Try it for yourself.

