A cover letter is an important part of a job applicaiton. There are many blog posts providing advice on how to write a cover letter, but this is not one of those posts. This post is a play-by-play of the cover letter writing process months into a job search.

 Introduction –

To whom it may concern:

or

To whoever I stalked on LinkedIn:

or

To whoever I stalked on the company site:

or

To thank God I have a contact at the company:

First sentence let’s see . . .

I am interested in this position.

or

I am passionate about this position.

or

I am passionate about this industry.

or

I am experienced in this, that and the other.

What should go first?

Never mind, second paragraph –

I have done this skill in this situation.

Third paragraph –

I have don this skill in this situation.

Fourth paragraph –

I will be excellent at these things because of this.

Oh crap should those all be bullets? 

  • I have done this job skill in this situation.
  • I have don this job skill in this situation.
  • I will be excellent at these things because of this.

Finally, conclusive paragraph – 

Do I leave them with a call to action?

  • I look forward to hearing from you for a potential interview to further review my skills and qualifications.

or

Do I take the call to action?

  • I look forward to learning more about the opportunity. I will contact you in two weeks to follow-up.

or

Do I say thank you? or best?

Oh just forget it!

PLEASE HIRE ME; I AM QUALIFIED! ASK MY REFERENCES OR INTERVIEW ME!

Attached is my resume and requested writing samples.

Thanks!

Brianna Wagenbrenner

