For the past 22 years of my life I have had short-term attainable goals and long-term dreams. When I was junior in college I had a short-term goal of getting as far away from Roswell as I could. I had long-term dream of working in communications. Well with HOPE scholarship in hand I traveled to Statesboro, GA to earn a degree in liberal arts. During my junior year of college I wanted to be president of PRSSA, I wanted to travel and I wanted my own car. With help and hard work, I landed an amazing job, traveled to cities across the country, became president of PRSSA and bought my first car.

The second semester of my senior year, I wanted to work in public relations more than anything. I spent every night networking or applying for amazing internships in Atlanta. I had a fantastic senior year that ended with an internship at Porter Novelli and the perfect apartment in Buckhead.

After that internship ended, 2012 became the first year I haven’t been able to articulate exactly what I want. Being a driven person, finding my passion became my short-term goal and long-term dream. I don’t think I am quite there yet. But I take comfort in being 22. I take comfort in the fact that I have plenty of years to figure out.

So my New Years resolution is not a short-term tangible goal. It is simple. I want to enjoy the last month I have of being 22. I want to shatter expectations. I want to strive for a career I am passionate and proud of. But most of all I want remember that this, what I wake up doing everyday is my life. And I don’t want to take a single moment of it for granted.

A photo-ode to 2012 . . .

375355_1967611466261_1912684175_n


