After almost two days of saying “I can’t believe it is 2013,” I have decided the year sounds weird. Something is off about 2013. I think it stems from an ancient superstition.

Triskaidekaphobia is the fear of the number 13. According to articles I found on the Wall Street Journal and Newser, the number 13 became unlucky when people started crashing parties of 12. A 13th guy tried to crash the last supper, and Norse god Loki crashed a dinner part of 12.

image friday-thirteenth-supper

Then a lot of other bad stuff happened in years ending in 13, and this all morphed into a fear of Friday the 13th and 13 in general. This fear has become so extensive tall buildings often don’t include a 13th floor,  and some airlines don’t include a 13th row.

(Yes, I know what you are thinking. Just because it isn’t labelled 13, doesn’t mean it isn’t the 13th row or floor. But still it comforts people.)

no_13th_floor

Maybe the Mayans were just trying to be as prepared as the architects and engineers who prevent us from going to floor 13.

Apocalypse = No Year 2013. Well played Mayans — nice try.

Well only the next 363 days can tell what this year actually has in store. In the meantime I am sticking to my resolution. Who knows? Soon 2013 might roll off the tongue more easily.

What are your plans for 2013 superstitious or otherwise?

