Kicking off my one race a month resolution, RT and I did Stampede in the Park Saturday, January 31 at Yellow River Park.

It was beautiful! A 5k trail run with two creek crossings, water views and one horrible hill! The only thing worse than that hill was the 28 degree weather!

I set our pace. RT finished 9th in his age bracket, and I finished 8th! This was our first trail run, so I was very happy! There’s us below at the finish line:

2015/02/img_6274.jpg

Lessons from the run: 

  • Be careful where you step!
  • Dress appropriately. I recommend running in similar temperatures to see what works for you.
  • Invest in more smart wool socks.
  • Trails are much more fun and better for you than pavement.
  • Goal for next time: No stopping on hills (not even just for a minute).

cold


NEXT UP: 

The P.I.G. Race | Saturday, February 21

